How to Add Users to a Site in SharePoint 2016

This video explains the 2 ways to give your colleagues access to the content and functionalities a SharePoint site and enable collaboration.


    |    Andreas Glaser

To give people access to content and functions of your SharePoint site and enable collaboration, use the site sharing feature or site permissions capabilities.

When sharing a site, you can give a recipient 4 different levels of access: View Only, Read, Edit, or Full Control.

The other way of giving your colleagues access to your site is through Site settings, Site permissions, and Groups. This option allows you to grant permissions to several people at once. This is a preferred option since it gives way to better site management.

You can share your site to an existing group or a new group that you may create.

The video below explains the 2 options.

 

 

You can have tutorials like this displayed in your SharePoint environment every time you want to complete a task. Just install VisualSP, the Context Sensitive Help System for SharePoint and Office 365. See a live demo here: VisualSP Contextual Help System.

 

Author: Asif Rehmani has been a SharePoint Trainer, Consultant, Author, and a SharePoint Server MVP since 2007. He’s the founder of VisualSP Help System.

VisualSP provides just-in-time learning and help through proprietary help system software. Also, the website hosts a variety of training videos authored by renowned experts in the industry.

Over the years, Asif has provided SharePoint consulting and training to major clients such as Department of Defense, NASA, Hersheys, Toshiba, State Farm, Federal Home Loan Bank, US Army and many more.